Telegram is one of the most widely used instant messaging services. Telegram is a wonderful WhatsApp option to utilize, especially now that WhatsApp has updated its policies. People are becoming more mindful of online privacy as a result of the WhatsApp policy change, and many users are transferring to more secure messaging programs like Signal. If you don’t want to use Telegram anymore and want your information erased from their servers, you may do so very easily. Here’s how to permanently erase your Telegram account.
How to Delete a Telegram Account Forever (2021)
You can delete your Telegram account in a few different ways. You can use your iPhone or Android device’s messenger app or a web browser to communicate. Both strategies will be discussed in this article. And, if you’re curious about what happens to your data, we’ll go through that as well.
1. Schedule the deletion of your Telegram account.
The first approach is one that comes pre-installed on every Telegram account. In general, if you don’t use Telegram for six months, your account will be deleted.
However, you can alter this time period in the Telegram app according to your preferences. Here’s how you can do it.
- Go to ‘Settings’ in the Telegram app, then ‘Privacy and Security.’
- settings for the Telegram app
- Select the time period after which you want to delete your Telegram account by tapping on ‘If Away For’.
You can choose from one month, three months, six months, or twelve months. You can then deactivate your Telegram app, and Telegram will delete your account from its servers during the time period you specify.
2. Immediately delete your Telegram account
The method for removing Telegram accounts described above is fine, but what if you need to deactivate your account right away? Thankfully, you may also remove your Telegram account right away. You will, however, need to use a web browser for this. Here’s how to do it.
- Go to the Telegram account administration page in your browser and log in with your phone number.
- Select ‘Delete account’ from the drop-down menu.
- Click Delete My Account after entering a reason for quitting Telegram.
- the reason for sending the message
- You will be presented with a confirmation dialogue box; simply click ‘Yes, delete my account’ to proceed.
3. What Happens to Your Data After Your Account Is Deleted?
You might be wondering what happens to all your Telegram data now that you’ve deactivated your account. So, here’s what happens when you delete an account.
Telegram servers will remove any messages, groups, and contacts related to your account.
Groups you’ve founded, on the other hand, will continue to exist for any of your contacts who were a part of them. In those groups, your connections will be allowed to continue chatting.
Your contacts will still have a copy of the messages you sent them.
Telegram account cancellation is irreversible, thus you won’t be able to recover your account once it’s been removed.
If you want to return to Telegram, you can always create a new account using the same phone number. However, it’s possible that you’ll have to wait a few days before you can sign up.
There’s nothing you can do if you don’t want your communications to be shown to your contacts as well. You can, however, use Telegram’s self-destructing messaging function to ensure that communications are automatically erased after a defined period of time.
4. Frequently Asked Questions
- Can I reclaim my Telegram account once it has been deleted?
No, once you remove your account, it is gone forever. You can, however, establish a new account using the same phone number.
- Can I reactivate my Telegram account with the same phone number as before?
After cancelling your account, you can re-register with the same phone number. You will not, however, receive any of your groups, folders, or other items.
- Why was my Telegram account automatically deleted?
If you haven’t used Telegram for six months, your account will be deleted automatically. In the Telegram app, you can adjust this setting.
Remove Your Data from Telegram Servers Easily
In terms of privacy, Telegram is pretty decent. However, if you’ve been looking to delete your account, maybe this post has helped you understand how to do it, as well as what occurs afterward.
Since you’ve uninstalled Telegram, you might as well look at various Telegram alternatives to keep texting your friends and family. If you have any questions or concerns, please post them in the comments section and we will do our best to respond.